Reading Into The New Year

SDC10222Five years ago I began keeping a list of the books I read. Looking back at year end allows me to evaluate how I spent my time.
          Usually, I complete 15-20 books–a mix of middle grade works and adult fiction and non-fiction. The high count of 29 books on my 2009 list surprised me, until I realized that six were children’s picture books.
          Typically, one book stands out as the most compelling read for that year. As I reviewed the fifteen books I completed in 2012, I recalled my days of total immersion in two very different books. One offered outstanding research and exceptional writing (it was a Pulitzer Prize finalist) and the other a unique yet believable point of view.

Here are my  “stand out” books from the past five years of reading:

2012 Empire of the Summer Moon – Non-fiction, S.C. Gwynne

           Memoir of an Imaginary Friend – Fiction, Matthew Dicks

2011 DOC: A Novel – Historical Fiction, Mary Doria Russell

2010 An Absence So Great – Historical Fiction, Jane Kirkpatrick

2009 Blood and Thunder – Non-fiction, Hampton Sides

2008 All Over But The Shoutin’ – Memoir, Rick Bragg

I look forward to lots of great reads in 2013. I’m already wait-listed for two new books at my local library and have a Christmas gift book downloaded on my Kindle. I hope that you, too, enjoy great reading in the new year.

Note: some of the books listed were not published in the year I read them.

Published in: on December 31, 2012 at 6:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://chipeta.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/reading-the-new-year/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

