Telling Women’s Stories

          JOYCE LOHSE joins me today with a guest post about genealogy as foundation for writing.         

          Hello, Cynthia – Thank you for inviting me to contribute to your history blog.
          I became interested in genealogy when my son, Charlie, was in Grade 5, in 1994. He was asked to fill out a family tree for a class assignment, and I sat down to help him. Hours later, he was long gone, outdoors playing football, and I was still working on the family tree … and I still am!
          The history connection was channeled to me through my ancestor, Eliza Pickrell Routt. Eliza was married to John Routt, the first state governor of Colorado. Since literally all of my ancestors lived in Illinois, I was delighted to find a connection to my adopted state of Colorado. However, when I searched for the story of the Routts, I found very little. The longer I looked, the more I realized there was a terrible gap in Colorado history, above and beyond my family tree. Among other things, Routt was governor three times, and Eliza was the first woman registered to vote in Colorado. My research journey began as I gathered bits and pieces of their story. With my journalism training and background, I built their story into a biography, First Governor, First Lady: John and Eliza Routt of Colorado.
          I’ve since had three more books published for the Now You Know Bio series from Filter Press. Subjects are Justina Ford, Emily Griffith, Molly Brown, and a fourth title about General William Palmer, which will be published this year. Biography seems to be a natural niche for me and my writing. I love to read them, and I love to write them.
          With my long-term involvement in the writers’ group, Women Writing the West, I have a special interest in preserving and sharing stories of women in the American West, such as your Chipeta, a wonderful character. You can often learn about women when you study the men in their lives, so I enjoy men’s stories as well. Many times, the story evolves from a strong, successful partnership involving a couple, and I find that relationship especially interesting. This was true for Chipeta and for Eliza Routt.
Best wishes – Joyce B. Lohse
Award-winning author, journalist, genealogist
blog: joyce4books.wordpress.com

Published in: on January 26, 2009 at 7:15 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chipeta.wordpress.com/2009/01/26/telling-womens-stories/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

