Summer Reading #5: Any time, any place

I was a child who never left home without a book. Partly, I loved to read. Partly, it was a survival plan.
          My parents were 35 and 40 when I was born and I was an only child. Mom and Dad’s friends tended to be about their ages but most had married younger and their children were nearly grown. As the only child at a dinner table surrounded by adults, I became quite adept at sitting quietly in my chair, tuning out chattering voices and escaping into a book.
          In the summertime, I liked to ride along with Dad when he made short sales trips. He called on dairies so there was ice cream involved! I could read in the car or in the reception room of a busy office, undisturbed by ringing telephones or people coming and going.
          Those childhood experiences were good training. Today, I can escape into a good book in a noisy restaurant, a busy airport, a crowded subway train, and, once, in the midst of a cheering crowd at an Air Force Academy football game.

Published in: on July 26, 2010 at 6:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chipeta.wordpress.com/2010/07/26/summer-reading-5-any-time-any%c2%a0place/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

