Letters to Ouray

Ouray by William Henry Jackson

Los Pinos
June 6, 1878

Friend Ouray,
Your letter of this morning asking for some more lumber to complete your house is before me…I am sorry to say that I should not want to spend anymore until I have completed our blacksmith and carpenters shop. I also intend to build the doctor and blacksmith a new house to live in and if I should we should use all the lumber we have left. However, when we have the shops completed I can tell whether we should have any more to spare or not. I am in hopes before long to salvage a few logs now at the mill. Will try and help you to some lumber if possible.

Yours truly,
Joseph B. Abbott
Agent

From files of the Colorado Historical Society Library

Published in: on April 25, 2011 at 6:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chipeta.wordpress.com/2011/04/25/letters-to-ouray/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

