Memories of Christmases Past

HPIM1024In the last weekend edition of The Wall Street Journal for 2015, Peggy Noonan offered a nostalgic look at Christmases past. She recalls the 1950s “when families had less, when America had less, [and] a single gift could make a lasting impression.” Noonan offers stories of the gifts children who are now grown up remembered most – a wooden Daniel Boone musket; an old doll recovered from a basement and hastily cleaned up and dressed to become a treasured gift for a little girl who would not tell anyone what she wanted until Christmas Eve; a Pink Lady bicycle; a desk fashioned of scrap plywood.

My own memory brings back the bride doll I wanted at age 7 or 8. I remember waking up before sunrise on Christmas morning and tiptoeing into the living room. There beneath the tree was my doll. I believe I squealed, “He came! He really came!” Then,  hugging my doll tightly, I padded into my parents room, crawled in bed with them, and happily went back to sleep.

What is you special memory of Christmas past?

Published in: on December 28, 2015 at 6:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chipeta.wordpress.com/2015/12/28/memories-of-christmases-past/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

