Advice for Job Interviews

Never drink an alcoholic beverage before going to an interview or with the interviewer!

I was one of four candidates selected by the Division President for a very good position. We each had a final interview with the Corporate Human Resources Manager. When I called to schedule my interview, I was told that we would talk over lunch.

The HR Manager took me to an elegant restaurant. As we looked over the menu, he politely asked if I would care for a glass of wine. I declined. He ordered a bottle of fine wine. During the meal, he offered me wine at least three times as he poured himself another glass. I continued to decline. Now, I really would have liked a little wine but I was intent on keeping my tongue and my brain in full functioning order. I really wanted that job.

A week or so later, the Division President called to offer me the job. He met with me when I reported for work some weeks later. He told me that I had been his first choice. The HR Manager preferred another candidate but accepted the Division President’s choice. He also told me that I was the only one of the four candidates who did not accept alcoholic beverages during lunch. One candidate drank too much and revealed a longtime alcohol problem. Another candidate apparently revealed some personal things that were best left out of a job interview.

Published in: on February 15, 2016 at 6:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chipeta.wordpress.com/2016/02/15/next/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

